Jack the Ripper – A Love Story ( Excerpt 102 )

Jack the Ripper – A Love Story ( Excerpt 102 )

  I despatched Mc Ginty to the Police Station with a message for Inspector Abberline asking him to confirm that they were still coming to dinner on Saturday night. He said, ‘That was fine with them but they had a guest, their niece, who was an adult, would it be taking too much of a liberty if she came too, if that was alright with me, they would see me on Saturday.’

I then consulted with Mrs Mc Ginty, I wanted to get presents for the ladies, something useful but not too personal. She suggested a shawl or a stole, after all it was winter and either would be quite acceptable. Fred wasn’t a problem, I had decided to get him a new pipe, the one he had was looking decidedly the worse for wear.

I went out that morning and made my purchases. The Abberline’s had made me very welcome in their home, the very least I could do was return the compliment when they came to mine.

I wondered about the niece, was this a bit of Lizzie’s match -making or pure coincidence. I would find out on Saturday, If it was planned, I was sure Fred would let me know, one way or another.

I discussed the meal with Mrs Mc Ginty and asked if she had any suggestions, she suggested a warming soup for starters, Mulligatawny or something similar followed by Roast Turkey with all the trimmings and to complete the festive meal Christmas Pudding and drinks to follow. I left her to make all the arrangements, confident all would be well.

I returned to work at the Infirmary and attempted to clear some of my back log of patients treatment notes from the never- ending procession of the sick and infirm which were my regular daily routine. It would be nice to break up for Christmas with a clean slate, but highly unlikely.

(C) Damian Grange 2018

7 thoughts on “Jack the Ripper – A Love Story ( Excerpt 102 )

Leave a comment