Jack the Ripper – A Love Story ( Excerpt 175 )

Jack the Ripper – A Love Story ( Excerpt 175 )

  As I suppose I had expected, the days flew by, If anything instead of slowing down we appeared to be getting even busier. My two members of staff, Jenny and Emily coped admirably, always calm and unflappable, no matter what situations came their way.

And praise must also be lavished on my old stalwart, Mrs McGinty, who throughout all the hustle and bustle kept us well supplied with tea and biscuits and other tasty morsels, bless her heart.

Thus far, I have not received a single reply to my adverts for a Junior Partner. But it has only been a week, I must learn a little patience, it will happen in its own good time.

I would much sooner wait, than take second best, as I reiterate, I know exactly what I require in a Junior and I am prepared to accept nothing less. But, in the meantime I am having to work long hours just to keep up with the amount of patients and their many and varied illnesses.

Even with Jenny and Emily carefully vetting them, I still have an inordinate number left to treat. I begin to wonder how long I can continue working under this amount of pressure.

Or is this just another test, another one of the trials that I must undergo to earn my redemption. Who knows? certainly not I.

(C) Damian Grange 2019

2 thoughts on “Jack the Ripper – A Love Story ( Excerpt 175 )

Leave a comment